So, this past Thursday, August 28th, was the day I've been dreading since having Parker. He had to go have his "modified circumcision". They weren't able to do it at birth because his foreskin grew unevenly, so he had too much on the top and not enough on the bottom, so they had to wait until he was old enough for anesthesia, put him under, and do some "rearranging".
We had to be at the hospital (Egleston) at 6:15 am. We are an hour away from there, so we got up at 4:30 and left the house at 5 (I didn't even know there was such a time!). We were not allowed to give Parker anything to eat after midnight Wed, so we were very prepared for an angry angry baby. But to our surprise, he never acted hungry (maybe bc he's not used to waking up at 5am either!). We got signed in and registered all by 6:30. We only had to wait probably 15 minutes or so before they came and got us and took us to Parker's surgery room.
The nurse weighed him, and he weighed in right at 17 lbs. She left us in his room with a hospital gown and cap to put on him :(. We changed his clothes and soon after anesthesia came in to talk to us. She explained that they were going to initally give Parker gas anesthesia, and once that started to take effect, they would put in an IV. Then they were going to put in a breathing tube and give him a cadal block to numb him from the waist down for 6-8 hours to help with the pain. They would then preform the surgery which would take probably about 45 minutes. After the surgery was over, they would take him to recovery and watch him for about 30 mintues or so, because at his age, babies tend to not like to breathe on their own after being on a breathing tube!!!
Ok, by this time I was FREAKING OUT! I was under the impression that this was no big deal, and it was turning into a huge thing. They were sticking needles all over him, paralyzing him from the waist down, and breathing for him. As soon as anesthesia left I grabbed Parker and just held him and tried to tell myself it was going to be ok.
The next person to come in was the nurse to take his vitals. She took his temperature and then his blood pressure with a teeny tiny blood pressure cuff. OH BOY did he HATE that! As soon as it would get tight, he would scream bloody murder and flail his arms around, so they had to do it over and over again. Finally she got what she needed, I gave Parker to Steven, and he laid in Steven's lap watching TV for a while.
Finally, the doctor came in. Extremely quickly told us what was going to happen, and that since it was such a short procedure, we were allowed to stay in the room and wait. As soon as he left I looked over and Parker had fallen asleep in Steven's lap. Needless to say, by this point I was a complete disaster, but I tried to hold myself together for Parker's sake. Right after that the nurse came in to take him, Steven laid him on the hospital bed, and started to wheel him out of the room. He tried to flip over to see us as he was being wheeled out, sucking on his pay :(. Steven walked over, shut the door, and I LOST IT! I started bawling so hard I thought I was going to be sick. Then Steven walked over to the tissues and grabbed one for himself to dab off a tear or two. I just kept thinking, oh my god, what if something happens to my sweet sweet baby.
The whole time during the procedure I kept picturing what he looked like at that moment with tubes and needles and doctores and I just cried and cried and cried. One of the nurses called in the room and said he went to sleep fine and was doing great, when I hung up, I bawled again!! Finally, the doctor came in and told us that everything went great, and he was in recovery!!
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)











No comments:
Post a Comment